standing still

Maybe he stood there still, but not quite long enough.  Maybe he started, but his magic was hidden, even to himself.  Everything moved.  He looked to see that he had remained still, and he smiled inwardly and whispered, “I am proud.” But everything was moving and he began to fear.  For though he had remained still, he know that soon, he too should have to move.

“But not now,” he thought, “and tomorrow is just a day, as any other.”  But he was no longer sure.  And again, as in times nearly forgotten, he began to think and to fear.  Tomorrow loomed closer, and yesterday melted into folly.  Holes arose.  Holes in everything, and the sun started to dissolve.

“I am strong,” he chanted to ward off the darkness, “I am candle. I am light.” He shone dimly.  All things were moving shadows and he was no longer sure.  “I am not separate,” he cried as the holes began to attacj his light, began to attack his soul.  Through clouds of smoke, rolling thunder shattered holes into everything.

Across a field, the sight of trees and white crosses sheltered the elusive horizon.  He jumped, climbed the trees, and stepped on hills to see the other side.  He ate his meals dreaming, “an apple as the world, yet I can never see the other side.”  And dreams of unspeakable darkness came into his mind.  “I have been knighted, and I now carry my device on my banner — I am me, and that is all I need.”  The words echoed in his mind, yet ever the fear of that horizon, and who waited on the other side – always these fears tainted his brightly polished shield and tore at his fluttering banner.

A few of them remained – yet did not remain unscarred by the passage of those who had gone.

.

1.03.98

Leave a Reply

Mick On Everything

Just a regular guy who is interested in everything

Wherever you go, there you are.

And here I am, Judith Clarke, writer.

HASTYWORDS

Turning Tears & Laughter into Words

A Word From The Raven's Beak

Or whatever I came up with whilst eating cereal this morning

t h i n g s + f l e s h

lyrical essays on songwriting + other mysteries

Syl65's Blog

Poetry, creative writing and a desire to inspire..... Hebrews 11:1 - Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see.

Words are mighty

poems, and poems again

Itty Bitty Journeys

Epic Tales of Tiny Adventures

michaelalexanderchaney

literary fictions, flashes, fiascos

All That I Love

Because Writing Is Therapy

poetry by skull

The Musings of N. E. Skull

kellygemmill

The heart has to be able to act against itself. (m.m.)

A Holistic Journey

Finding my way back out of motherhood -- while mothering

Experimental Fiction

"Come with me, and you'll be, in a world of pure imagination" Willy Wonka, 1971

Just breathe.

Life is beautiful. And there is so much to be grateful for.

Ouroboros in Arkadia

A work in progress

Nathan Blixt

Art, Text, Code, Design

