The Fall (7-2-14)

This is where I come in.  My name is Simon.  I have not always been Simon, and at this point in this tale, I suppose I really had no name. My birth experience is probably not all that different from anyone else’s. Like most newborns, I awoke slowly in a hospital bed to a reality that was completely new to me. I could not speak, nor could I comprehend who I was within that world.  Surrounded by people I did not know, and with no way to communicate my confusion, I was a sullen infant. My memories of that time are only islands of consciousness in a sea of painful confusion. My body hurt.  Breathing hurt.  My head ached continually. Despite the combined effects of brain damage and narcotic pain meds, the doctors and therapists were no doubt used to cases such as mine. Traumatic brain injuries from motorcycle accidents, drug overdose, or strokes are common.

5 responses to “The Fall (7-2-14)

  • JustDeb

    I like it! Great idea. Now I need more!

    • dtdeedge

      working.
      this one is tricksy,
      I don’t really know this Simon fellow.
      I began within the mind of Grant,
      and his story is much more fully developed.
      So,
      I am meeting Simon
      only moments before you are.

      I’m on vacation next week,
      but perhaps
      that will lend
      more time
      to their story.

      thank you for reading.

  • Holistic Wayfarer

    Interesting, buddy. I realize I like (probably prefer) hearing from you in complete sentences over quasicryptic phrases. =) I appreciate your demonstrated support on a poem you’ve seen. I remember clearly your comment on it. So glad you’ll be on vacation! Will be good to get away. Be sure to have your fun, k?

    • dtdeedge

      Very well.

      Yes. We are on vacation.
      It is good to see your notification pop up on my tablet.
      Some holisticality is nice to see.
      I like reading art, quality art.
      And yes, your last brings a pain that I won’t step into again,
      Especially not with my girls at the beach – I cannot.

      I’ll give words next time,
      And bypass the cryptic riddles.

Leave a Reply

Mick On Everything

Just a regular guy who is interested in everything

Wherever you go, there you are.

And here I am, Judith Clarke, writer.

HASTYWORDS

Turning Tears & Laughter into Words

A Word From The Raven's Beak

Or whatever I came up with whilst eating cereal this morning

t h i n g s + f l e s h

lyrical essays on songwriting + other mysteries

Syl65's Blog

Poetry, creative writing and a desire to inspire..... Hebrews 11:1 - Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see.

Words are mighty

poems, and poems again

Itty Bitty Journeys

Epic Tales of Tiny Adventures

michaelalexanderchaney

literary fictions, flashes, fiascos

All That I Love

Because Writing Is Therapy

poetry by skull

The Musings of N. E. Skull

kellygemmill

The heart has to be able to act against itself. (m.m.)

A Holistic Journey

Finding my way back out of motherhood -- while mothering

Experimental Fiction

"Come with me, and you'll be, in a world of pure imagination" Willy Wonka, 1971

Just breathe.

Life is beautiful. And there is so much to be grateful for.

Ouroboros in Arkadia

A work in progress

Nathan Blixt

Art, Text, Code, Design

